Home

Helen Musselwhite is also a paper cutting illustrator, i have begun to look at a selection of these because its a method i am interested in trying for my FMP and i haven’t seen it used regularly in children’s books therefore i think theres a niche for this kind of interesting 3D work to be used in a 2D manner. I also love Helens use of flat colour in her illustrations, but how she manages to make flat colour look like 3D landscapes, below is the About section taken from her website (which may also be useful when deciding what to write in the About section of my own website)

For me, it all started with one of those bumper packs of felt tips. One of my earliest memories is of tearing open Christmas wrapping paper to find a vivid array of coloured pens inside – then immediately rearranging the colours in a way that pleased me better. That was it; I was off on a voyage of creative discovery that continues to this day.

A love of art sustained me through school and it felt the most natural thing in the world to study graphic design and illustration after leaving. Since then, my creative ventures have embraced decorative furniture, jewellery and painting – all of which I’ve deeply enjoyed but which have since been eclipsed by my affinity with paper; the medium that was patiently waiting for me all along.

As you’ll gather from my work, a lot of my inspiration comes from the British countryside. The beauty of it never ceases to amaze me and, happily, I’m well placed to observe it, living as I do just south of Manchester with one foot in the urban landscape and the other in the countryside. Walking my dog gives me the opportunity to see how my surroundings change from day to day – it’s an unending source of pleasure.

All in all, I consider myself very lucky to be where I am, doing something I love. And I hope that shows in my work.

Helen has tried all manner of methods before finding the one that suited her, and i can identify with that and i’m hoping that throughout my FMP my own style will grow and develop into something i can take into industry and be proud to create. So its not just Helen’s incredible work that is inspiring me, but the courageous manner in which she discovered it and i will be much more experimental in this project than i have done in previous ones. What i enjoy about Helen’s work is her use of light also, she lights some of her 3D illustrations making them seem more alive and give them a magical quality that i would like to achieve in my work. Below are examples of her work that i have found inspiring.

b-wood3 Helen_Musselwhite_MotherChildDeer Helen-Musselwhite-papercraft-4 HH-copy SH_Shop_Hanover-copy1Above are some of the pieces i like, the one with the moon and owls makes excellent use of lighting to create atmosphere! Also the one next to it shows influences of Alice in wonderland in a less obvious way than using Alice herself in the scenes, which is something i could consider for my own Alice interpretations.

Also where she displays her work in small cabinets, i think is an interesting and refreshing way of displaying her pieces so that they become interactive as you have to be curious enough to open the cabinet door to see the world inside and this is something i could consider when displaying my work at the end of year show. Helen’s work is all expertly photographed and edited to give it a professional finish and this is something i need to think about also, because i want my work to look as magical 2D as it will 3D.

Leave a Reply

